I just finished watching the final episode of Dr. Who season 2. Talk about ripping my heart out! These people, the Doctor and Rose Tyler feel like friends. I won’t give anything away, but it got me thinking there’s a problem with U.S. television.

I was born here (the United States) and have been a dedicated TV watcher since I lived in Germany as a kid. The winters were mighty long and dreary.  I drank books like they were water through the week , but savored TV on Fridays (ABC network’s TGIF line-up yo!). Later back in the U.S. I moved onto teen soaps like Dawson’s Creek and Felicity. The horror that I ever liked DC! And the early seasons of The Gilmore Girls were great. I also found time for reruns like The Mary Tyler Moore Show, The Cosby, and Seinfeld, which became favorites. Then there was Lost. Saayid, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways! Too bad the last season was LAME SAUCE. I also enjoyed Monk for 3 seasons and Psych for about the same. However, since Lost did I ever truly love any TV characters? Was there any show that filled my heart with wonder or made me cry like a loon? As far as the other TV offerings its either vampires, 5 kabillion crimes shows, “reality” shows, or comedies and soaps saturated with sex and crude humor.  Sure, there are a few well written and acted shows out here and I haven’t seen everything, but there’s nearly nothing the whole family can watch.

But, then KDRAMA came along. And I could love a fictional character (and show)  for their soul, for the no-holds-barred performances, and  unapologetic romance, cheesiness, and heartbreaks. My first kdrama, was Boys Over Flowers, and for all the head-desk inducing plot turns and less than superb acting it got me bad, real bad. And now I’ve discovered Dr. Who and the fact that I finished two seasons already is amazing. I started in June, taking my time not wanting it to end, but it flew by anyways.  I know I have four more seasons on Netflix to catch up on, plus season 7 is currently airing in the U.K., but a good thing is rare and shouldn’t be rushed.

So, choosing to take it slow I decided to watch Sherlock another BBC production in the meantime. And behold, another love! Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are amazing as Sherlock Holmes and Dr. John Watson! Sherlock is the most attractive genius semi-sociopath that ever graced television! And Dr. Watson is a true friend and a real man. Also, the cases are fascinating or if less than that the chemistry, friendship, character development, and skillful direction compensate. The layers of Sherlock, Dr. Watson, the big-baddie, and even the side characters are a breath of fresh air. Yes, Sherlock is like a very good book. My highest compliment, because nothing usually measures up to my imagination.

Well, this is really long. To sum it up I want the U.S. TV executives to back off the crime shows, the dramas about sex, the comedies about sex, and the reality shows about sex and/or shameless people. Alas, that probably won’t happen. Fortunately, there’s a world of TV out there available online filled with amazing actors and good stories. I just hope I like the Doctor’s next companion.